#MarsWalk Day 498, 2893.8 km

This Google Earth Blog post showed up in my RSS reader today, as a result of which I’m making a slight course correction, because I can’t resist visiting the Google data center on Mars, announced a few hours before April 1 of this year. It’ll add negligibly to the distance remaining. But I did add a few km to the total distance I’ve been assuming (it’s now 3065 km according to Google Maps), because I’ve extended the path to go to the Curiosity rover after visiting the MSL at Bradbury Landing. I’m not certain how up to date that Curiosity position is, I’ll have to check on that, but given how slow the rover moves, I’m sure it isn’t far off.

94.4%, projected arrival at Curiosity June 18.


MarsWalk spreadsheet

MarsWalk kmz file (for Google Earth — View >> Explore >> Mars)

Leave a Reply

