I appear to have worn out the battery on my pedometer. Several times the past week or so I’ve gone to check it at the end of the day and found it reading 0 steps, or something nearly as implausible. Tonight I pulled the battery and it had 2.8 V compared to the nominal 3 V or the 3.2 V of the new battery I put in. I hope that fixes it.

I usually have my phone in my pocket when I’m walking, though, and I have Google Fit working, and it usually reports something moderately consistent with the pedometer when the latter’s working, so I’ve gone by that on the whacko pedometer days.

It’s been several weeks since I last checked in but there’s been nothing really notable on my walks nor on the Mars counterparts. I’m past most of the plenitude of Mars InSight candidate landing sites as imaged by HiRISE.It was this bunch of images that led me to think I was heading into interesting terrain before I looked more closely to discover what they were. But now things really are about to get more interesting. You can see in a week I’ll be among… what? They’re the size of hills but they look more like chunks of debris. Then I’ll thread between some even more rugged features before entering (drum roll please) Gale Crater, wherein the end of this #MarsWalk lies. Probably around the beginning of June.

And I should be able to cover distance a little faster starting soon. My bike just came back from its spring tuneup, and while today we had snow flurries, Monday it’s supposed to get into the 70s Fahrenheit.


MarsWalk spreadsheet

MarsWalk kmz file (for Google Earth — View >> Explore >> Mars)

Leave a Reply

