I am doing Walktober. The goal is to walk at least 6000 steps per day for at least 20 days in the month. Which is pretty much what I’ve been doing all year, but this month I get leaves for it.

But the month was threatening to start off badly. Saturday I spent the day driving to Saugerties and back and, in between, morris dancing at the Garlic Festival (and drinking beer at the Dutch Ale House), and not walking much, and Sunday morning I went on the last Cycle in the City ride for 2017, so normally I wouldn’t have walked much that day either. And would have started Walktober with no leaves to show for my first two days. I can only take eleven days off, and that would’ve reduced it to nine right off the bat! So… after the bike ride I went for a walk along the Erie Canal too. The net result of which was I covered nearly 35 km that day, a record for this year. This week ended up a record one as well, with more than 72 km put behind me.

On Mars there’s not much in my neighborhood, so I’m expanding my horizons:20161006_mcc_mrc_20141007_phobos_anim

That’s a view of, duh, Mars, taken over a period of 35 seconds beginning at 3:02:41 on October 7, 2014 by Mars Orbiter Mission (MOM). Actually it’s four views, converted to an animated GIF. Look on the right and you can see Phobos transiting the disk. Look closer toward the mid left and you can see me… well, virtual me. Left of center is the caldera of Elysium Mons, off to my east and increasingly behind me. At the end of a northward-pointing dark “finger” below center you can make out Gale Crater, my destination. These images are credited to ISRO / ISSDC and Emily Lakdawalla, who processed them and wrote them up on her blog this week.


MarsWalk spreadsheet

MarsWalk kmz file (for Google Earth — View >> Explore >> Mars)

Leave a Reply

