There was an 18 mile Cycle in the City ride Sunday, and I did more walking than usual the rest of the week. In fact I covered more distance, 70.2 km, than in any previous week. It took me past the 1200 km mark, and almost to the 40% point.

It also took me right down the middle of this HiRISE picture. But I like this one, a little further south and about 15 km to my west, better. I mean, look at these insane channels and basins.Screen Shot 2016-07-23 at 12.25.34 AMScreen Shot 2016-07-23 at 12.27.17 AMThis presumably was flow off of Elysium Mons, whose caldera lies 600 km to the east.Screen Shot 2016-07-23 at 12.30.55 AMMuch closer, about 5 km to my east, is a little crater, nothing notable, other than that it has a name… an Uwingu name. Renate. Bestowed about a month ago.Screen Shot 2016-07-23 at 12.43.02 AM


MarsWalk spreadsheet

MarsWalk kmz file (for Google Earth — View >> Explore >> Mars)

Leave a Reply

