#MarsWalk day 36, 208.7 km

The second hundred km is behind me. This week’s 48.8 km was built on a foundation of a 10.6 km hike last Saturday along the Erie Canal, from Jordan to Peru and back. Not the countries. Jordan, NY is a village and Peru’s a crossroads.jtop I rode my bike from Amboy to Peru and back last August (and I’ve ridden, walked, and run parts of that numerous other times) so I’ve now covered all of the Amboy to Jordan part of the canal at least once in each direction.

Following the Great Recalibration, and switching focus to Mars, that Saturday was the day I passed closest to Rimac Crater, then located about 60 km to my east. Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 8.42.14 PMRimac is 7.6 km in diameter and is said to be named for a “town in Peru”. (Appropriate! And I swear I didn’t plan that. But I wish I could say I had.) Well, there’s a Rímac district in Lima, and it’s on the Río Rímac. Why either gets a crater on Mars named for it, I don’t know. The National Engineering University (Universidad Nacional de Ingeniería) is in the Rímac District but I don’t see that it has an astronomy department or other such attribute that would prompt Martian recognition.

Next named feature is about 150 km ahead. I’ll get there in a month, give or take.


MarsWalk spreadsheet

MarsWalk kmz file (for Google Earth — View >> Explore >> Mars)

Leave a Reply

