#MarsWalk

Merc Boyan, Creative Director at the Planetary Society, is walking across the surface of Mars, and I was deeply honored when he asked me to accompany him.

Well, okay, he’s not actually on Mars. But he is walking, and he’s blogging about the stuff he’d be seeing on his walk if it were on Mars. He’s starting at the Viking 2 lander and heading to the Curiosity Rover, a distance of about 2880 km.

And, okay, he invited me and anyone else “with a will to learn” to come along.

My new pedometer arrived today, too late for me to use it on a nice walk in the Camillus Forest Unique Area, but I recorded my track using Locus on my phone: it was 3.9 km.

I’ve put in some steps since then, with the pedometer on, but then I accidentally reset it. (Apparently you can’t change the units from miles to km without resetting it?) So we’ll call it 3.9 km to start, as of now.Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 7.30.04 PM

Given that Boyan has a head start I may need to resort to special measures to catch up, like riding a bike across Mars. Probably not this month though.


MarsWalk spreadsheet

MarsWalk kmz file (for Google Earth — View >> Explore >> Mars)

 

Leave a Reply

