Comics of the web kind, a not too soon update

Hmm. I was thinking maybe I’d write up the webcomics I’m following these days… it’s been a year or two since I last did that. Then I looked. It’s been nearly three years. Hey, time flies.

So, update. The ones I was following in November 2011:

  • Cleopatra in Spaaaace! by Mike Maihack. No longer running as a webcomic. Instead Maihack’s doing Cleopatra in Space graphic novels. On paper. Book 1 came out last spring, Book 2 is due this spring. My son and I both liked the first one.
  • Crimson Dark by David C. Simon. Ended in late 2011.
  • The Dreadful, by Matt Speroni. I’m still following this one, but with less enthusiasm than in the early days. The story line sort of rambles all over the place without a very strong focus or direction. At least he’s finally brought Liz back after a too-long absence; she was a good character. And she and Kit played off one another well, but he hasn’t brought them back together yet.
  • Escape from Planet Nowhere, by Otis Frampton. Seemingly petered out some time ago.
  • How I Killed Your Master, by Brian Clevinger and Matt Speroni, never resumed.
  • The Non-Adventures of Wonderella, by Justin Pierce. Still following. Still funny.
  • Power Nap, by Maritza Campos and Bachan. Apparently still running, but didn’t sustain my interest.
  • Questionable Content, by Jeph Jacques. Still one of my favorites and going strong.
  • Red’s Planet, by Eddie Pittman. Still in my RSS feed, but updating very sporadically up until last June at which point Pittman said “There’s been a great development I can’t tell you about but it means not updating for a while.” I’m sort of guessing this one’s moving to paper too. I’m not missing it that much, it was kind of fun but not really high on my list.
  • Scenes From a Multiverse, by Jonathan Rosenberg. The fan vote thing got stopped but the comic’s still going and I’m enjoying it.
  • Spacetrawler, by Christopher Baldwin. Ended. Baldwin then started up a new comic, but it didn’t appeal to me as much and I haven’t been reading it.
  • Wondermark, by David Malki. Still going and another of my favorites.
  • XKCD, by Randall Munroe. Likewise.

And the newer (to me) ones:

  • Blindsprings, by Kadi Fedoruk. Updates twice a week. A fairly new comic; started last October. She’s telling a fantasy story about a young girl — well, young and very old at the same time — who’s central to a power struggle between two magical factions… I guess. At 80 pages in we’re still learning what’s going on. I really like the artwork.
  • The Creepy Casefiles of Margo Maloo, by Drew Weing. Updates twice a week. Family friendly story of monsters in the basement. Just started in February, so easy to catch up with.
  • Dresden Codak, by Aaron Diaz. Updates very infrequently but steadily. Diaz just takes that long to get each strip done — he puts a lot into the art. He’s telling stories that are a little hard to follow (especially at his pace), somewhat nonlinear and a little obtuse, but worth following.
  • Drive, by Dave Kellett. Updating sporadically. Baldwin took some time off for another project, then came back for a couple months, but no updates since June. A fairly humorous science fiction story, but suffering from the hiatuses.
  • Dumbing of Age, by David M. Willis. Updates seven days a week. This is about a bunch of college students, mostly freshmen, mostly women, so I’m sort of outside the target demographic… but it’s fun. Interestingly, Willis has done a couple of other comics using the same characters in a different universe; one of these, Shortpacked!, will be ending in January on its tenth anniversary. I binge-read the DoA archive but am in no hurry to do likewise with the other comics.
  • Girls with Slingshots, by Danielle Corsetto. Updates five days a week. Another I’m-not-in-the -demographic situation, it being focused mainly on two women in their late twenties (and their friends, mostly other women in their late twenties or so) but fun and well written.
  • Saturday Morning Breakfast Cereal, by Zach Weiner. Also updates seven days a week. Gag comic with strong nerd content. I only started following this very recently and wish I’d started a lot earlier. There’s 3402 strips in the archive; not going to binge-read that anytime soon.
  • Woo Hoo! by Molly “Jakface” Němeček and J.R. Boos. Updates once, sometimes twice a week. Officially. But really it’s been about twice a month lately, though we’ve had three this month. This is the most recent addition to my comics RSS, and I’m not sure if I’ll be sticking with it. I kind of like the art, which is very vividly colored, but then again some of the style grates on me. The story’s just getting going, so we’ll see if it keeps me interested.

 

One thought on “Comics of the web kind, a not too soon update

  1. XKCD and SMBC of course. I’ll have to look into some of the others you mention. I’ve been enjoying “Existential Comics” which brings me back to my Humanities Sufficiency days…

    Like

Leave a Reply

