I can’t handle The Truth

I downloaded Terry Pratchett’s The Truth to my Kindle. Opened it up, tapped to turn a page… it went to the Table of Contents.

Odd.

Tapped to go to the first page, tapped again, it went back to the ToC.

Eventually I figured out that I could turn pages by swiping, but tapping (the method I habitually use) would always go to the ToC.

So I fired off a note to Customer Service and they recommended deleting the book from the Kindle, restarting from the Settings menu, and re-downloading the book. I did that. Same problem.

So I phoned Customer Service. They recommended trying again, but this time restarting with the power button. I did that, and when I re-re-downloaded the book, it wouldn’t even open.

After trying a few more things, none of which had any effect, Customer Service said they’d issue a refund and flag the book for someone to fix. And I downloaded a different book. Which works.

I like my Kindle, a lot, but I never had this kind of problem with a paper book.

(Oh, and I like my Kindle more now that I’ve discovered how to remove the DRM. My concern about this was revived by the news that Microsoft is offering to buy Nook Media and that Nook hardware is likely to be discontinued. If I were a Nook consumer I’d be very concerned about the future of my ability to read Nook content on Android, and maybe even Apple, devices. I don’t think anything similar is likely to happen to Kindle anytime soon, but I’ve been wrong before. Should I, I asked myself, stop buying Kindle books and only get ePubs? I didn’t like that idea partly because, if you watch for sales, Kindle books can often be a lot cheaper than their ePub equivalents. I had Calibre on my Mac but didn’t know about the DeDRM plugin until I went looking for solutions. Once I installed that I was able to batch-apply it on all my Kindle books, and as a test I converted one to ePub format. It worked just fine. OK, my ebook library is now safe.)

 

One thought on “I can’t handle The Truth

  1. If I were a Nook consumer I’d be very concerned about the future of my ability to read Nook content on Android

    I’m a Nook owner. But I’m not worried because I haven’t actually bought any Nook books. Partly because (1) I’m poor, and (2) I’m mostly interested in old stuff I can get off Project Gutenberg or RPG stuff I have to get in PDF form from RPGNow/Drivethru RPG.

    Kinda worried about the apps, because Nook is rigged so that you have to get apps from the Nook store; non-B&N-approved apps won’t install, unless you root the Nook, which I haven’t tried yet.

    I like my Kindle, a lot, but I never had this kind of problem with a paper book.

    Not that specific problem, certainly. But what about missing/torn pages, ink smears, one page printed twice, pages stuck together, or bad binding?

    Like

Leave a Reply

