Black belt cycle: Pre-exam 2

The second pre-exam was held Saturday (and Friday for the black belts going for higher degree). The ranks were depleted, mainly due to the running requirement. From DeWitt, of the six adults who went to the first pre-exam, I was the only one who went to the second. Yep, we have a small group this time.

The first pre-exam was mostly holds and grabs, sparring, and line drills, with only the most basic katas as warmup, so I expected the second to cover the advanced katas. No: it was mostly holds and grabs, and sparring, with only the most basic katas as warmup. Okay then!

Since I was the only DeWitt adult, Sensei Nolan didn’t think it’d make much sense to have me wait around until 1:30 to run with the juniors at the Erie Canal, so instead I ran at Onondaga Lake Park with candidates from another dojo. My time was nearly a minute better than the week before… which was over two minutes worse than my average. Running on snow, not my strong suit.

Tonight we found out who from DeWitt had passed and will be going to black belt graduation next month: About five or six juniors… and me.

YES!

Can I have a WOOT?

One thought on “Black belt cycle: Pre-exam 2

Leave a Reply

