I <3 my APPC

The Atari Punk Console is a simple noisemaking circuit originally published by Forrest Mims III under the somewhat more prosaic name of “Stepped Tone Generator”. I’ve built one from a kit by Jimmie P. Rodgers. I modified it a bit: I added a couple of photoresistors in parallel with the pots, with switches to disable them. So you can play the thing a little like a theremin, by waving your hands over it. Hence “APPC”: Atari Punk PhotoConsole. I put mine in a heart shaped tin from the dollar store (because everyone and his brother uses Altoids tins and besides, with the photoresistors and the switches, it would’ve been a tight squeeze.)

Here it is:

wpid-img_3173-qrqiel3njf9u.jpg

Here it’s plugged into the tea tin amp I made last month:
wpid-img_3174-wfcq7fsro95s.jpg

Video:


2 thoughts on “I <3 my APPC

Leave a comment