Very very frightening

A few weeks ago I was watching Torchwood on DVD, specifically the outtakes. At one point the whole cast starts singing “Bohemian Rhapsody”.

A few days later on a Ukulele blog I saw a link to this video of a guy playing “Bohemian Rhapsody” on a kazookeylele (and if you want to know what a kazookeylele is, you pretty much have to watch the video).

Soon after that one of my Facebook friends wrote that she ‘finds few things more alarming first thing on a Monday morning than my husband’s rendition of Queen. “Scaramouche, Scaramouche, can you dance the fandango?” My Gawd, he knows the whole thing.’

Then on UkuleleUnderground someone posted a review of a Jake Shimabukuro concert in which he played “Bohemian Rhapsody”.

Then someone on Facebook posted a link to this video of the Muppets doing “Bohemian Rhapsody”.

Now consider that a few weeks ago, “Bohemian Rhapsody” had made little enough impact on my life that I needed to Google the lyrics to verify what song the Torchwood cast was singing. And since then, as far as I can tell totally independently, five references to the song have come up.

Weird.

Then the night before last while I was half asleep, my wife came back from a birthday party she’d been to and said to me, ‘So, you know “Bohemian Rhapsody”?’ I started screaming but it turns out she was just telling me about the Muppet version, so it didn’t count as #6.

One thought on “Very very frightening

Leave a Reply

