SG:Unwatching

So I think I’m going to stop watching “Stargate: Universe” at least for now. My reaction to the pilot episode was pretty favorable; it was considerably better than I was expecting it to be. I still think it has the potential to be a fine show, but only the potential.

By the time I got to the end of “Stargate: Atlantis” I was seriously wondering why I was bothering, and the answer pretty much was McKay and Zelenka. The rest of the characters never really appealed much to me, being too 2-dimensional, too perfect (one flaw each, but perfect otherwise), too damn competent and too damn good. Cheesy aliens, cardboard bad guys, and not particularly memorable stories. At least McKay and Zelenka had some good chemistry together, some funny scenes.

There’s about none of that on SG:U. The characters are all far from perfect, most have some depth, most are out of their depth, and and most have a lot of both good and bad in them. No aliens at all, at least no sentient humanoid ones. Practically no jokes to speak of, which is shocking in a Stargate series, but that’s okay. What isn’t okay, though, is leadenly slow story development, almost nonexistent plot, and, in the latest episode, 45 minutes of uninterrupted maudlin soap opera. I’d almost welcome someone in a rubber monster suit just to get things moving. Last week’s “Time” was pretty good but the general trend has not been favorable.

So if you’re still viewing and this show picks up steam, let me know, okay? Otherwise I’ll find better things to watch.

Leave a Reply

