On the run

I’ve never been a runner, really, aside from a few running sessions in a fitness class I took in the early 1980s. But our dojo requires running for black belt candidates — you have to run two miles in under 16 minutes. And Kenny’s getting checked for his green belt second tip, which means he’ll be brown belt pretty soon, the first of the advanced belts, and that means he should be starting to work toward that goal; and I’m a green belt, only a few months behind Kenny. So today he and I went for a run. Only half a mile, and he took roughly six minutes (I kept pace with him), but for a starting point I think that’s great. Heck, the fact that he could run half a mile the first time he tried, without stopping or slowing to a walk, was better than I expected. I’m proud of that kid.

Leave a Reply

