Gentle Reminder

(Another Rules for Dysfunctional Patterns lyric)

When I was six
I wanted to drive a garbage truck
Remind me why
I wanted to drive a garbage truck
They’re impressive machines
But they smell
And it’s hard work
For bad pay
And no respect

When I was twelve
I wanted to be an astronaut
Remind me why
I wanted to be an astronaut
It’s the final frontier
But the risk
Is very high
And you get
Spacesick a lot

When I was twenty
I wanted to marry Emily
Remind me why
I wanted to marry Emily
She was beautiful, yes
But she had
No brains at all
And she had
Expensive tastes

When I was thirty
I wanted to serve all of mankind
Remind me why
I wanted to serve all of mankind
They’re the image of God
But they kill
Lust after gold
And hate what’s
Not understood

When I was fifty-three
I wanted to write down this song, yeah
Remind me why
I wanted to write down this song, yeah
It’s a clever idea
But it’s long
Too long in fact
And the point
Got lost somewhere

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

