Chocolate in a mug

I tried a couple of odd recipes tonight. 5-Minute Chocolate Cake is made in a mug, in a microwave. It came out okay. I liked the taste, but I think 3 minutes in my 1100W microwave was too much; it came out a bit dry and tough. I’m wondering if the relatively high egg content might be a contributing factor. Maybe one could substitute about a tablespoon of mayonnaise. Or maybe just use an egg yolk.

Anyway, it was entertaining to watch it cook.  It started to crest over the top of the mug after about a minute, and soon it looked like at least 50% of the volume of the cake was outside of the mug — leaning over and looking like it was going to fall off.  It didn’t, though, and toward the 3 minute mark it mostly collapsed back into the mug, leaving about a couple centimeters sticking out the top.

The Mug Brownie recipe begins by dissing the 5-Minute Chocolate Cake as “somewhat gelatinous and, quite frankly, not really chocolatey”. Odd. I wouldn’t describe my results as “gelatinous”, though perhaps I would if I’d undercooked it. And I thought it had plenty of chocolate flavor — oh, wait, maybe the author’s referring to the original recipe (which was on a site that seems to be offline, but you can read it here) which omits the chocolate chips. I can see how that’d make the difference; the Instructables recipe says “if you don’t have chocolate chips, try a broken up candy bar – I can’t stress how much this amps the awesomeness of your cake”. Anyway, I honestly liked the taste of the cake a little better than that of the brownie, but the brownie’s texture was better. Maybe I’ll throw some chocolate chips in the brownie next time and see how that comes out.

Leave a Reply

