Cheap thrills, and not so much

Ah, the spending. The economic stimulus. The prelude to yet another chorus of why the hell do we have so much stuff?

I mentioned the new TV. I didn’t mention the dishwasher. Well, I may have mentioned it a little, but I think I got away with it. Let’s see, how many dishwashers have I owned? We had two at Miles Ave, because one broke so we bought another; we had one in Newport News (but we didn’t own that one); we didn’t have one at Roosevelt Ave, and when we first moved to Griffin Road that house came with a dishwasher that didn’t work quite right, in the sense that it did nothing whatsoever, but we bought a dishwasher to replace it. When we moved to Marty’s house we moved the dishwasher to there, and then when we moved to Parish we moved it to there, and when we moved back here I said, forget it, I’ve installed that dishwasher three times, I’m not gonna install it again. So we’ve done dishes by hand for nearly 17 months now, but the time has come to stop doing so, unless divorce seems preferable, so, hey, another dishwasher. I installed it this morning and it’s now running. On sale at Sears, and no payments or interest for a year, just like the fridge we got last November (remind me to pay for that in about four months, ‘kay?)

We hit a garage sale yesterday on the way home from karate and yarn and groceries, and I got a $10 microwave oven that allegedly works, though I haven’t verified that yet. In fact it’s still in the car, because it’s not for the house, it’s for my office. There used to be a grad student lounge across from my office, and I’d go there and use the microwave to heat up lunch, even though I’m not a grad student, but no one ever threw me out. But the lounge is gone now (the room’s still empty, presumably they have something in mind for it — if not maybe I could open a tap dance school there) and I’ve been eating cold lunches. A $10 microwave (that works) should fill the void in my life.

Also got a $12 VCR. Not that VHS tapes are a big part of my life any more, but Kenny has some he likes watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, and watching, the upshot of which is the VCR we bought in 1996 (after its predecessor got stolen) is wearing out. And we do have some home videos to transfer to DVD sometime, for which we need a VCR that works better. (And digitizing hardware, and a DVD burner, but let’s not get ahead of ourselves.) Supposedly this VCR works great and was hardly used, though I haven’t verified that either.

And we were talking earlier about the need for an outdoor electical outlet, and yesterday afternoon I went to the hardware store for dishwasher installation stuff, and I checked out their discounted items display, and there was an outdoor electical outlet kit, marked down from $15 to $5.

Score! Cat dance

(I’m sorry. I promise that will not happen again.)

Leave a Reply

