Another star

It’s been over a year since I made a paper small stellated dodecahedron, and at the time I figured I’d soon also make a …

… great stellated dodecahedron, but I didn’t even start one until a day or two ago. I guess I can blame moving and Real Estate Hell. Why not, I blame them for everything else.

The holes in this thing are disconcertingly large. Maybe I should’ve worked more carefully. Of course the fact that ten pieces, rather than six as in the small, come together at those points doesn’t help.

Well, it’s not bad for a rush job. I didn’t need to rush, mind you, I just did.

I suppose I should do either the other Kepler-Poinsot solids next, or the stellations of the icosahedron. That’s a jo-, I say, that’s a joke, son.

Meanwhile Norah Vaughan has knit a small stellated dodecahedron. Should be possible to knit a great also — using the same basic triangle, three instead of five per piece for twenty instead of twelve pieces. And then knit the stellations of the icosahedron. That’s a jo-, I say, that’s a jo- oh never mind.

One thought on “Another star

Leave a Reply

