When

When the fire drill is over and the sun lights up the room
When the lilacs are in blossom and the cannon start to boom
When the dishwasher’s rebooting for the twenty-seventh time
Then I find I can be happy if I have another lime

When the butterflies are chirping and the ants play whiffleball
When Uzbekhistan and Libya come pay a social call
When the marching band plays greatest hits of Stockhausen and Cage
Then I’ll script “The Origin of Species” for the stage

When the Great Red Spot turns greenish and blinks “mayday” in Morse code
When Bugs Bunny sings “The Raven” in the mixolydian mode
When the seas all turn to soup, the continents to chicken stew
Then I think I might consider maybe coming back to you

Leave a Reply

