Oh no, not again

An odd thing seems to have happened. I woke up this morning. Now, waking up isn’t an odd thing, but I didn’t expect to wake up this morning, 27 Jan 2005. I expected to wake up on the morning after yesterday evening, which was 16 Jul 2029. Or at least, that’s what I remember yesterday being.

Everone else around here, though, seems to think 27 Jan 2005 is the day they were expecting.

Well, I wasn’t expecting it. For one thing, it was the middle of summer yesterday, and this morning it was -19F. I am not acclimated to winter weather, let me tell you.

Nor am I used to two dimensional displays with the old “desktop” metaphor, or to CD players, or to having a five year old kid whose thirtieth birthday we just celebrated. Heather had left for work by the time I woke up, which, I don’t know, blessing or curse? I think she’d’ve been pretty weirded out by how weirded out I was. Five year olds are weird anyway, so I don’t think Kenny particularly noticed.

One thing I don’t miss is the rampant sneigolism. I didn’t see a single brackathile on the drive in to work. I’d forgotten how pleasant that was.

Also, this quarter century younger body is kind of nice.

But if this means I have to live through 2005 again, I’m going to be really upset.

One thought on “Oh no, not again

  1. Avarition is such a shame in this day and age. I’m done skydiving. You can have your half of the room back. Got any potato sticks? – Peter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

